525,600 Minutes

Rent

Image taken from Chapel Off Chapel Website

“Five hundred twenty five thousands six hundred minutes. How do you measure, measure a year. In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee. In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife. In 525,600 minutes – how do you measure a year in the life?”

I finally watched Rent the musical live on stage. Not broadway, no. This one was presented by the Melbourne based Next Step Production. Small little stage, small tiered audience. In (a real) Chapel off Chapel Street. Yarra. Excitement could not begin to describe how I felt!

Pure joy! Pure wonder! Pure curiousity! I’ve been watching and re-watching the Rent’s rendition on a dvd since the first time I learnt about it years back. For many years after, it was the one movie/musical that I never tired watching of. Every inflection of how Mimi sang her lyrical flirts to the way the notes undulates through La Vie Boheme and the spectacular wink-wink-nudge-nudge of Angel’s many performances. They were feasts for my eyes, my ears and somewhat my square (and relatively) straight ways of living.

Seeing it live brought all that warm and fuzzies and little explosions in my neurons (not sure if that’s a good thing, really). It once again reminded me how fleeting live is. How transient. And how we are all merely borrowing some time. To play, to laugh, to dance, to create, to watch countless amount of youtube videos, to love, to scream, to cry, to hug, to love again, to share, to fight, to emote, to be real.

Life is really too short to take too seriously.

But alas, such is the line of thinking that only the fortunate can have. For a man with no food in his palms have nothing else to think but where he will get his next feed from.

So perhaps, I am fortunate after all. Oh So Very.

“How about love? How about love? How about love? Measure in love. Seasons of love”

About inifeli

Sketch a lot, write a lot, read a lot. Live a lot.

2 comments

  1. You are incredibly lucky! I watched the movie version of Rent at least 5 times, but I really long to see it live on stage.

Well, I'd say....

