Aku Ingin by Sapardi Djoko Darmono

Forehead Kiss

One of my favorite poems by an Indonesian poet.

Here goes my attempt on the English translation.

I want to love you unassumingly

With words that the logs failed to utter

to the fire who turned them into ashes.

I want to love you unassumingly

With signs  that the clouds failed to carry

to the raindrops that made them vanish. 

Ok. crude translation.

But that’s what life should be, no? Simple. Unassuming.

And such is life, so love should be too.

And I think a simple, unassuming, un-adulterated forehead kiss fits it most.

Don’t you think so?

About inifeli

Sketch a lot, write a lot, read a lot. Live a lot.

One comment

Well, I'd say....

